My Oscar Review

I watched some of the Oscars last night – the first time in four years – and I enjoyed seeing James Cameron get his ass kicked (which is why I watched in the first place). While The Hurt Locker is insulting to the military in many ways, Avatar was much worse in that regard so I can’t complain. Of course,  Up should have won Best Picture, but what cha’ gonna do.

Speaking of Avatar versus The Hurt Locker, it was fun to see Hollywood reward a small well-made film instead of a CGI-carried horror while also proving that Cameron is not only disliked by the public but by his peers as well.

It was nice to see Sandra Bullock win Best Actress for her role as a conservative Christian performing an incredibly kind act without the government’s help or suggestion – a minor miracle there – but most of her speech was bad acting, which is something a Best Actress winner shouldn’t be caught doing.  She really loves her man though, at least as much as I hate him because he gets to bang that all the time.

Steve Martin sucked, but Alec Baldwin wasn’t half-bad (he left his bad part on the phone with his poor daughter I suppose). Why they felt the need to drag Barbara Streisand out of her coffin I can’t imagine, except that she made all the other women look even prettier.

I’m also glad Jeff Bridges won. Haven’t seen Crazy Heart, but he’s The Dude and therefore deserving of all things good. Plus he played one of the best presidents in film, whose use of presidential food in intimidating other politicians is priceless, and I’ve wanted to taste a shark sandwich every since I saw this scene.

Let me see. What else?

Oh yes, the overall production sucked, but that was to be expected based on what I’ve read every year. (Again, I haven’t watched in a long time.)

I really hated the long speeches by the “friends”/co-workers of the Best Actress and Best Actor nominees.  They were way, Way, WAY over the top as is usual, and it’s no wonder these people think they can pontificate on every known subject in the universe – they are definitely legends in their own minds. That ginger actress with the bad teeth and tiny boobs whose name I can never remember knew Colin Firth for three fricken days and she came to the conclusion that he was evidently a better person than Gandhi, the Dalai Lama, and Mother Teresa all rolled in one?  Give me a break.  And Oprah telling the obviously talented young woman, Gabourey Sidibe, who was nominated for her role in Precious: Based on the Novel Push by Sapphire that she has a great career in front of her?  Please, on what planet is she going to get roles in the “looks are everything” film industry.  Not planet Hollywood that is for sure.

Well, that’s it. Nothing particularly novel in my observations here, but I needed a post and this was it.

1 Comment

  1. “Why they felt the need to drag Barbara Streisand out of her coffin I can’t imagine” Now that was a funny line!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Calendar

    March 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  


  • Archives


  • Meta


  • StatCounter

    web analytics