Hello? Hello? Anyone Still Out There?

No?  Can’t say I blame you.  I am not really into blogging these days and frankly I do it so fricken badly it’s probably a kindness to the world to stop.  And, no, I have nothing to post now.  Except that I finally bought me a motorcycle.

It’s a Kawasaki Vulcan 500 LTD.  Yeah, yeah, I know. It’s not a BIG bike.

Not a manly bike.

Well . . . tough. It’s as big a bike as I wanted to start with.  It’s as fast as any 650 and 750 out there and can keep up with the 800s so deal with it.   And it didn’t cost me an arm and a leg, either.

Yeah, I will probably want to trade-up in a few months but that’s cool cause my sister in law already wants to buy it from me.   And if I decide I don’t want to keep on biking it won’t break my bank and will be easy to sell as they are very popular starting bikes.

Rationalization?

Maybe.

But the bike is easy to ride and learn on and will haul ass when you want it to, so I can live with it.

Seriously. It is a fun ride.  And once I actually figure out what the hell I am doing it will be even funner (yeah I know that’s not a word – deal with that, too).

Past that, I got nothing.   I am working my big ass off and hoping I can retire before most of America decides it’s time to lynch federal employees.

Yeah, I’m feelin’ that love.

Understandable, yes, but just know if you come for me I plan on fighting back and I am not unarmed.

Just joking.

Sorta.

14 Comments

  1. Oh, but it’s a pretty bike. We’ll excuse, for now, the fact that you work for the feds. 😉

  2. Wow, you still check out the blog now and again. I am amazed you still actually click over here as bad as I am about posting.

    But thanks,

    My son got his 1st Degree Black (decided) in TKD last month. Very proud as you might imagine. I like his school and instructors except I wish they were more aggressive on sparring, but they are getting better so it’s all good.

    Hope all is well with you and yours beautiful 🙂

  3. Well…. I actually subscribe through a reader, so I can’t say that I click over. I just get spoon fed your blog.

    Congratulations to your son! That’s hard work. Our school is very aggressive on sparring. My particular event is forms, so I sometimes wish that we did more forms, but I enjoy sparring so much that I don’t complain.

    We are doing quite well, thank you.

    • This school concentrates on forms more than sparring it seems, and I wish they did the reverse obviously. That said, he rocks at forms . . . seriously . . . but he needs more work at sparring. Part of the problem is his school is a small off-shoot of a larger school and doesn’t have many people at his skill level or higher to challenge him. He needs that.

  4. Cool bike and it should be plenty for getting started. Mine was a 250. I went on a solo road trip from San Diego to the Grand Canyon and I couldn’t sit down for a week. That thing was totally wound up at 55mph. 🙂 I had a Suzuki Savage 650, too. Never felt a desire to go any bigger than that.

  5. They say this thing will do 85+ easy (a cruiser-tuned Ninja 500 engine with a six speed), but I really don’t have any inclination to do so. It’s comfortable, but I already need a windshield and bags . . . should have gotten them when I bought the bike.

  6. Wow. He’s still alive!
    No kidding–I’ve checked back here a couple of times a week and had begun to wonder if some bad guy had ambushed you, or something. I mean, my state is in all the news, now, and in the old days, you would have been blogging about SB1070, the boycotts (bring ’em on!), and the boycott backlash.

    But I know…these aren’t the old days, and you have to be kinda careful. But I’ve missed your old blogs, when you could say what you thought without holding back…and you really thought things through. I like that in a person, you know.

    So…not a word, so far, about your bike. Sorry–I have my priorities! It is a pretty bike, and if it suits your needs, ride it for all it’s worth!
    Why can’t I go down another line?

  7. Okay–I’ll start a new one.

    Anyway–I don’t want to go after federal employees; I just want to see a seismic shake-up in Congress. I’ll settle for that, this year; then I want a significant change in the White House in 2012.

  8. My Guide is – is it so small he looks stupid riding on it – and the answer would be no for that bike. So you’re safe AND cool! Enjoy!

  9. Congrats on the new bike! Glad to see you back.

    We can forgive the FED thing because we know if SHTF, you’ll be on the right side…

    • I judge the right side by reciting my oath when I was commissioned as an officer in the United States Air Force.

      I, TRO, do solemnly swear that I will support and defend the Constitution of the United States against all enemies, foreign and domestic; that I will bear true faith and allegiance to the same; that I take this obligation freely, without any mental reservation or purpose of evasion; and that I will well and faithfully discharge the duties of the office on which I am about to enter. So help me God.

  10. Hey, it’s a nice bike. It’s manly enough if you’re having fun.

  11. That “domestic” part never meant as much to me as it has come to mean in the past 20+ years…increasingly.

    I remember when Kruschev said to America, “We will bury you from the inside.”

  12. It’s not a cage; that’s all that really matters, TRO.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Calendar

    May 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Apr   Jul »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  


  • Archives


  • Meta


  • StatCounter

    web analytics