Everybody Draw Mohammed Day!

Via Dan Savage’s blog at The Stranger, some clever chappie (I don’t know who) has declared May 20, 2010 “Everybody Draw Mohammad Day,” in support of Matt Stone and Trey Parker and in opposition to religious thuggery. Why May 20? I haven’t a clue, though it could have something to do with Otto ascending the throne of Greece. Or, more likely, King Sancho IV of Castile’s founding of the Study of General Schools of Alcalá.

I will be employing my tremendous skill as an illustrator, of course, and expect that my colleagues will do the same. If they refuse, they will be declared weak-kneed, namby-pamby, quisling infidels and will be shamed on this blog (Though such idle threats rarely work these days; perhaps I could threaten them with a painful death, which seems to do the trick). If readers would like to show their solidarity, please email your Mohammad masterpieces to me here: mmoynihan at reason.com. The best ones will be published on Hit & Run, which, along with the concomitant death threat, is reward enough.

The idea came from here via here and here, and it’s a great one.

I don’t draw, but I sure don’t mind spreading the word. So on May 20th, 2010, if you do draw give it a shot and, if not, then just spread the word like me. We have to fight back, because the weak-kneed folks in the media (Comedy Central do you hear me?) and in our own government will never do so.

As for me . . . if I can find a likeness of Mohammed on a hot brunette between now and then you can bet I will be posting it.

Quick Update:

Three Donia is getting a head start. Not Mohammed exactly, but close enough to get a baby-fatwa I bet. And there’s boobs so I’m thinking Pulitzer for cartooning.

6 Comments

  1. I’m looking forward to Everybody Draw Mohammed Day!

    http://tinyurl.com/draw-mohammed-day

  2. I am totally disgusted at the Draw Muhammed Day. You people are prejiduce and no better than the terrorists!!! abusing issues in Islam which have got nothing to do with you. Why does it bother you so much that Muslims want to respect their Prophet. Is that so extreme! not really but people just want to pick a fight! I would urge people to not participate in this day.

    • Amra,

      This is not about disrespecting Islam, it is about telling anyone who threatens our free speech that we will not stand for it. In the USA, we can say what we want, when we want where we want, as long as we are not infringeing on someone else’s rights. Some of these militant islamics seem to think its okay to try and deny us that right with death threats. We, as a country, need to stand up and say No, you can not threaten us into doing things your way. If we don’t, then they will try and take away more and more of our freedoms and rights. We did not start this fight, but we will sure as hell end it.

  3. lets make a butt face of Jesus that would be fun as well i am gud in drawing how would a son of God would luk like with his face covered in shit n yes the whole would be the anal! and cheeks pinkish sexy soft 😛 nahh lets keep it white cux it represents white westerns in majority i wouldnt mind drawing would be fun! just need to buy sum colors!

    • I am not sure what you are trying to say SZH, but if you did make a drawing of Jesus, I would not threaten your life, regardless of how I felt about it. I think that is the point others are missing in all of this. It is about the death threats and the violence over an opinion. In the USA and many other places in this world, your are FREE to present your own opinion of any subject with out being subjected to death threats and bodily harm. I am not sure why some people seem to be over looking that point.

  4. Draw the face of Jesus any way you like. We don’t care. Jesus doesn’t care. That’s the difference between us. Radical Muslims would kill us for drawing Mohama Mama in any way while we, at most, might piss and moan about you drawing Jesus in a bad way.

    Mohama Mama is YOUR prophet, not mine and I could care less about him. Get used to that.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Calendar

    April 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  


  • Archives


  • Meta


  • StatCounter

    web analytics