My Five Word Review Of “The Pacific”

It ain’t Band of Brothers.

Okay, here are a few more words. It isn’t even close to being Band of Brothers. Maybe it would have been different if it had come out first and didn’t have to be compared to Band of Brothers, but even then I’m not sure.  It’s not that the story of the Marine’s epic battles in the Pacific isn’t as compelling as the story of the Army’s epic battles in the Europe – it is – it’s just that the true story of the men of E Company is much more compelling that the semi-true story of the part real-part composite Marines in The Pacific.  I just can’t seem to connect with the characters in The Pacific the way I did with those in Band of Brothers and I guess that is why.

Of course, I had already connected with E Company because I had read the book and that gave me an insight into those men that I just don’t have with these guys, who like I said, are a mixture of real and fake Marines. The only two I have any interest in are the legendary (then) Lieutenant Colonel Lewis ‘Chesty’ Puller and Medal of Honor recipient Gunnery Sergeant John Basilone, both incredibly interesting individuals who unfortunately are not in the whole series. So what I have left is just a sort of generic Marine war movie which really has been done before and better.

The Sands of Iwo Jima and The Flying Leathernecks for example. John Wayne anyone?

1 Comment

  1. John Wayne ALWAYS!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Calendar

    March 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  


  • Archives


  • Meta


  • StatCounter

    web analytics