Federal Workers To Get 2% Raise

payraise

Down from 2.4%. Oh, the horror.

Citing the current economic recession — and the Sept. 11 terrorist attacks eight years ago — President Obama says he will use emergency powers to cut the programmed across-the-board January increase in federal employees’ pay from 2.4 percent to 2.0 percent, according to a letter he sent to House Speaker Nancy Pelosi, D-Calif., on Monday.

The move was not a surprise, as Obama telegraphed a 2 percent increase in the budget he proposed earlier this year. But it’s certainly not welcome news for federal employees, whose unions protested when Obama’s budget was released.

Let me go on record as saying I am totally against this travesty.

Federal workers shouldn’t be getting a raise at all. With the economy doing as badly as it is, it’s just not smart. The President should be freezing spending not increasing it and that includes federal salaries. I don’t want a raise now if it means that I am going to have to pay higher taxes just to get it. Peter paying Paul. Not to mention that my grand-children will end up paying for it, too.

That said, I am not apologizing for my being a federal employee. I am proud of my service to my country, both in the military and now as a civilian employee. I work hard and smart and earn my pay. So I don’t feel the need to apologize to any private sector worker for my job security. I made a choice a long time ago to pursue government service, mostly because my particular career is one that is only found in the government but also because I knew it would be more secure than a private sector job. When I started I was making quite a bit less than my private sector buddies, but I didn’t complain, so now that I am making a decent wage I really don’t want to hear them pissing and moaning about how tough it is out there.  I got a family to house and feed and I am doing the best I can to do it.

But again, federal employees should not be getting a raise at all and it’s just another example of how tone-deaf those in charge are right now.

BTW, can I just add that should Obamacare pass federal employees will get screwed just like the rest of you.   The federal health care system is no different from any employer-based system.  The government pays part of our cost and we pay part of it and we use a private-sector health care insurance provider just like you do.  In my case it is Blue Cross-Blue Shield.  So when Congress looks like it is going to exempt itself from any public-option plan that does not mean all federal employees will be exempt.

Oh yeah, and as to the great federal retirement I am getting.  Well, much of my retirement is in the federal version of a 401K plan and I took a big hit just like everyone else.   I’m not complaining, just letting you know I don’t have any special immunity from the crap going on right now.

1 Comment

  1. Well put …


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Calendar

    September 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Aug   Oct »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  


  • Archives


  • Meta


  • StatCounter

    web analytics