This Is Why I Don’t Go See Groups I Rocked To When I Was Young

Not because they aren’t still worth listening to.  Because they mostly are.  Steely Dan, a group I partied to many a night, still sounds good after all these years (even if his voice is weak – but then again they were mainly a studio band so it probably always was weak and I just didn’t know), so it’s not them that makes me not want to go.

No, what keeps me from going is the knowledge that I would look as foolish trying to rock it out at my age as these old-timers do in this video.

Dignity. If you don’t have any at least fake it in public.

Hat-tip to Land of Punt, which is a quite good blog by the way.

4 Comments

  1. The most foolish looking are the old-timers in the audience. They’ve all taken a nap so they can stay up past 10, they’ve shared a beer with their significant other so they have a little buzz and they have on their best and only party outfit. You know that somewhere all of them have a child who is burying their head in embarrassment.

  2. Yeah…you know, I saw Page and Plant in 1998, and it just, you know, wasn’t like “The Song Remains The Same.” Page had a gut and Plant…well, he sure wasn’t showing off his man berries in tight jeans.

  3. Who is Steely Dan?

  4. Wow, yall are rough. HA

    Love me some SD.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

