Ten Things

1. Did you see the HBO Film Taking Chance? If not, you need to because it is a remarkably powerful and moving film based on a real event. I am not ashamed to admit I more than teared-up on several occasions. Hell, I teared-up watching this trailer as I posted it.

2. And speaking of films, did you watch the Oscars? I did not. A bunch of poorly-informed, rich, hypocritical, elitist snobs engaging in mutual masturbation has never interested me (unless it was Playboy bunnies) and when you add in the fact that I haven’t seen any of the nominated films – save The Dark Knight that was ripped-off big time – I had no interest whatsoever. However, this idea (NSFW) might make me change my mind next year. At least it will keep Meryl Streep out of the running.

3. Switching the subject, I see George Walker Bush remains a class act. Barry, so far, isn’t even coming close. My bet is he never will.

4. Speaking of Barry. He plans on cutting the US deficit in half during his first term. What a joke. You have to have a second term to have a first.

5. If you’re Catholic, Sea Kitten time is coming soon. That means catfish, shrimp, and salmon croquettes in my house. Not much of a sacrifice for me though except for the croquettes.

6. Times when even a man must cry. On a serious note, I have cried twice “for real” in my adult life. One is too painful to talk about here, but the other was when a heavy metal ladder snapped-down on my thumb. I almost passed-out and wish I had it hurt so bad.  It is officially called the “evil ladder” now.

7. Speaking of a time when a man must cry. To circumcise or not to circumcise, that is the question. Aside from wondering if they took too much off of me, I am pretty much in the pro-category. They are even voting on it.

8. Chicken-fried bacon. Yum.

9. Meat Loaf was devasted by this defeat. Loving wife’s homemade mac and cheese is da bomb and, as good as her meatloaf is, it never has a chance.

10. How martial arts can supercharge your “man spirit.” I took Tae Kwon Do for a couple of years back in my early 20s but quit and still regret it. I never pushed my two oldest boys into it and wish I had, but my youngest son is really enjoying it. So much in fact that he is a red belt with just six months to black. It’s great fun, good exercise, and definitely builds men . . . and women.

7 Comments

  1. I’m Nigel Tomm and I agree with you in 99%.

  2. I really wanted to watch TAKING CHANCE. But the 19th was the 2 year anniversary… I just couldn’t do it…. yet.

    http://mssc54.wordpress.com/2009/02/19/399/

  3. God bless you and thank you for your sacrifice.

  4. If you find a way to keep Sean Penn out of movies…no, wait…let him act in movies, but wire his jaws shut, off the set. Anywhere off the set.

    As for the Prez’s determination to cut the U.S. deficit (which he has already ballooned, exponentially) by the end of his…shall we say, fourth year?–he has a plan, you know. You will no longer be burdened by a paycheck and all those decisions you have had to make about how to spend it. He’s going to take it.

    And about that chicken-friend bacon, once the sizzling stops in the deep-fryer, you can listen to your arteries harden, just before the heart attack.

    Now…go have a good day! :o)

  5. That movie looks amazing. I wish we got HBO over here.

    And Don has always claimed the same thing about #7. ;-}

  6. Wow…..I mean, Wow. I teared up and got chills just watching the trailer.

    TRO, you know that you and I have a surprising amount in common. I wonder if someone who has not been in the military can feel the same about this stuff.

    I was only in the Navy for 9 years and have been out for 12 years, but I still feel like I am still in. You know, I still don’t carry stuff in my right hand!! Gotta keep it free for saluting. I still feel weird when I go outside without a hat on.

  7. I was in the Air Force for 12 years active duty and two more reserves but I, too, still feel like I am in, although I would be booted out for my weight gain by now – LOL


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

