Money For Something

0_21_011509_nataliedylan

This story about the woman selling her virginity to the highest bidder ($3.7 million now) reminds me of an old joke.

A man approaches a beautiful woman in a bar, and without any small talk, asks her “If I give you a dollar will you sleep with me?” The woman is instantly angry and tells the man “Absolutely not!”

Before she can get away from the man, however, he asks her a second question. “Will you sleep with me for a million dollars?” Now the woman pauses and after some thought says “Yes, I will.”

The man responds “How about for twenty dollars?” Again the woman looks indignant and says “Of course not. What kind of a woman do you think I am?”

The man replies “Lady, we just proved what kind of woman you are, now we’re just negotiating price.”

Which begs the question. Assuming the man (or woman) wasn’t totally disgusting in a body odor, warts and open sores kind of way, how much money would it take to persuade you to spend some quality time with him (or her)?

I ask because at one of the law enforcement academies I attended the women in the class played a little game one day where they named all the guys in the class and posed the question, “Would you sleep with him for a million dollars?

Now I don’t know how I fared in this game – I was older than most of them and married to boot – but I do know that one very unpopular  guy’s name elicited automatic and emphatic “noes” on the part of every woman save one, who when asked a second time said, “Give me a minute, I’m thinking.”

Point being, don’t be so sure of yourself until you see the money.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

