For Those About To Watch We Salute You

I have a couple of neighbors – gals – one blonde and one brunette – who are big AC/DC fans. I liked them too, but they were never among my favorite groups like Zeppelin, Black Sabbath, Tull, The Stones, Deep Purple, ZZ Top, Skynard, etc.  Anyway, a few weeks ago these two ladies drove all the way to Atlanta to see AC/DC and said it literally rocked.  But past that they didn’t give much of a description so it was nice to read one here.

For the record, both these gals are classy dames and would have only spruced-up the crowd as described at the link, but the description does reinforce my many decisions not to go back and see the groups I loved as a young man. It’s not that the groups have aged really, it’s because I have. And I just don’t want to be one of “those people.”  You know, old people trying to relive their drunken youth by acting like, well, a drunken youth.   Again, not that my two friends were like that. They are a tad over a decade younger than me and like I said were probably the classiest people there, but at my age and with my taste for beer, I wouldn’t want to take the chance that I would end up in the 1970s version of a mosh pit down in front staring up at Angus.

I think it’s that way for my generation (and maybe the “classic rock” generation in general). The WWII generation had all those big bands they danced to back then and they can still revisit them in their 80s without looking like morons.  Sure they dance a little slower now, and maybe with the help of a walker, but they can still step out to some Glenn Miller, Benny Goodman or Tommy Dorsey without looking like fools.

Us, the baby boomer generation and downward, once we reach a certain age we just look stupid gyrating and slamming our heads up and down to For Those About To Rock and similar rock anthems. Oh, we can go to a nice Fleetwood Mac concert and retain some dignity, sitting in our padded chairs, sipping white wine spritzers, and holding up our Nokia cell phones instead of those residue-caked Bic lighters some of us used to carry, while singing along to that sexy voice of Stevie Nicks.  But put a 50 year old guy in front of a crowd at a KISS concert and having him rock out is just embarrassing.  (It’s even worse if it is a gal.  Sorry, but it is true.)

Don’t get me wrong.  If people my age want to do that, I say go for it.  It’s none of my business and besides pretty much everyone else there is acting like a fool too so no one is going to care.

I just can’t see myself doing it.

Yep, I rock in the car.  I love rock anthem music that makes you sit up straight, drive a little faster, and scream the lyrics at the top of your lungs while the people in the surrounding cars look at you with wide eyes and wonder if they should call the cops. (Which is all the more surreal when you are indeed a cop.)

I just know my age and the limits it imposes.

And as Dirty Harry said, “A man’s got to know his limitations.”

And one of mine is head-banging. For one thing it gives me a headache, but mostly because my hair is so short now I just look like I lost my neck-brace and I’m having trouble keeping my head from falling forward.

3 Comments

  1. I agree with you …
    attending rock concerts required stamina …
    the decibel levels were enough to deprive me of hearing for the next few days.

    But have you considered … the crowds at these “reunion tours” are probably mostly old farts like us anyway … so what the hey ?

    Stick some cotton in your ears and join the crowd.

  2. Thanks for being kind to us in reference to our attendance at the concert-lol

  3. Oh, I am sure you and Blondie were head-banging with the best of them. I just know you two looked good doing it.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Calendar

    January 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Feb »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  


  • Archives


  • Meta


  • StatCounter

    web analytics