This Video


Which I found over at Three Donia reminded me of something that happened in my home town when I was somewhere between 18 and 20 years old. Two guys from my high school, along with some older guy I had never heard of, decided to rob a local bank. After the robbery they took off in a car which they quickly dumped on the side of a road out in the country. Then they jumped into a parked truck and drove that to the Mississippi River where they went water-skiing in a boat they had hitched to the truck.

You know, to throw off the cops.

God, what dumb asses.

Not only was one of the guys well-known in town. And not only did someone see them switch vehicles. But to make matters worse, they had to top off all that stupidity with some lame water skiing alibi.

Butch, Sundance and the Hole in the Wall Gang they were definitely not.

What’s interesting about this true story is that years later I had a boss who told me he had been stationed near my hometown during the mid-seventies. I told him about the robbery and he told me that he recalled that robbery because of the ski boat and that he had worked the investigation. Crazy coincidence I know, but was is even crazier was that shortly after the robbery I was stopped at a roadblock they had set up to try to find the three guys – two of which were my age – and an agent had actually talked to me. And since there was only one agent covering my town in those days, well, it had to be my boss.

Weird, huh?

2 Comments

  1. Now that is ca-razy. And those guys were mental giants.

    Happy New Year, fiend!
    🙂

  2. I didn’t know that Publishers Clearing House conducted road blocks. Hmmm. You learn something new every day.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

