Up All Night

up-all-night-breakfast-pv-t

I arrived home to a broken computer yesterday afternoon and spent from about 6:00 pm to 3:30 am working on the damn thing. I was finally forced to reinstall Windows and every driver I had, but it seems to be stable now. The problem was another virus – sigh – and some kind of weird Windows automatic download that, and the combination of the two of them corrupted my hard drive worse than Chicago politics corrupts Governors and maybe even soon-to-be Presidents.

Unfortunately that was just part of the work and now I have to reinstall all of my substantial collection of game programs, including the three World of Warcraft programs, and then wait for them all to download their many patches. And I still have another five or six programs I use all the time to download both from disks and the web.

That’s all just small potatoes though. What really kills me is I lost all my photos. Every one. Not so much any family photos. Those are either printed-out already or still on the flash card of our camera so that is really not a big deal. No, what’s a big deal to me is I lost all those photos and cartoons I have collected over the years to use in my blog posts. I had tons of them and man I am going to miss them.

Sigh.

Now before you chastise me for not having a backup to my hard drive, don’t.   I do have one.  Only it wouldn’t work when the computer was a mess, and now that I have it working I am a more than a little afraid to move it over since it might be corrupted and/or unclean as well and I don’t want to start this all over again.

Besides, I’m not sure I want my old setup.  Having a fresh install of Windows on your computer is kind of like having a brand new, pimped-out car.

And I just love me some new car smell.

6 Comments

  1. dang… you mean you lost all of those pictures of hot women that people sent you for your contest?

    That just stinks.

  2. UGH!!! Just the concept of virus’s pisses me off! The fact that they are developed by people for no other reason than to hurt others is beyond my comprehension.

  3. June,

    There’s always another picture of a hot woman . . . all one has to do it look.

    BetteJo,

    Yep, it sucks. But in my job I have run into more than a few people who are bad just because they get a kick out of it. You get used to it after a while.

  4. […] of all,  I got three hours sleep last night so I had half-expected to slip into work late and have an easy day of last-minute paperwork before […]

  5. Gee, if only someone would invent, well, you know. some way to run a computer without Wiindows.

    Hmmmmmm

    Maybe they could call it something catchy, like something fruity, like Pear or Orange. Maybe Apple, or some type of Apple, like Red Delicious. I know, Macintosh!

  6. Glad to be the first to mention the obvious


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

