Everyone Talks About The Songs They Love

But how about the songs they hate. Well, here are two that make my hate list with ease.

The first one is “What’s Up” by the one-hit wonder of a band 4 Non Blondes.

Why radio stations still play this song I haven’t a clue, but I can tell you it grates on my ears like fingernails on a chaulkboard every time I hear it. And it’s not the tune, which is actually quite catchy nor the singer’s voice which is also not half-bad and has a pretty good range. No, it’s the lyrics which are absolutely moronic.

Twenty – five years and my life is still
Trying to get up that great big hill of hope
For a destination
And I realized quickly when I knew I should
That the world was made up of this brotherhood of man
For whatever that means
And so I cry sometimes
When I’m lying in bed
Just to get it all out
What’s in my head
And I am feeling a little peculiar
And so I wake in the morning
And I step outside
And I take a deep breath and I get real high
And I scream at the top of my lungs
What’s going on?
And I say, hey hey hey hey
I said hey, what’s going on?
Ooh, ooh ooh
And I try, oh my god do I try
I try all the time, in this institution
And I pray, oh my god do I pray
I pray every single day
For a revolution
And so I cry sometimes
When I’m lying in bed
Just to get it all out
What’s in my head
And I am feeling a little peculiar
And so I wake in the morning
And I step outside
And I take a deep breath and I get real high
And I scream at the top of my lungs
What’s going on?
And I say, hey hey hey hey
I said hey, what’s going on?
Twenty – five years and my life is still
Trying to get up that great big hill of hope
For a destination

Twenty-five years old and she is complaining about getting-up that great big hill? Please. Try climbing that sucker at 50 you whiny little Emo baby. And there is no “destination.” Life doesn’t have one unless it’s a coffin and a hole in the ground. Life is a never-ending journey of joy and pain, success and failure, boring routine and wonderful variety.  It’s a roller coaster of ups and downs.  Then you die, comfortably in your sleep if you are lucky, but sometimes screaming like a madman as you fly over a cliff in your brand new Corvette.

And what’s the deal about her lying in bed crying? Get your lazy butt up, find a job and quit getting high off that deep breath we all know is the Devil’s lettuce.

These four give brunettes a bad name.

The second song I hate is “Closing Time” by Semisonic.

This song’s lyrics are even worse.

Closing time – time for you to go out, go out into the world.
Closing time – turn the lights up over every boy and every girl.
Closing time – one last call for alcohol, so finish your whiskey or beer.
Closing time – you don’t have to go home but you can’t stay here.

I know who I want to take me home.
I know who I want to take me home.
I know who I want to take me home.
Take me home…

Closing time – time for you to go back to the places you will be from.
Closing time – this room won’t be open ’til your brothers or you sisters
come.

So gather up your jackets, and move it to the exits – I hope you have found
a friend.

Closing time – every new beginning comes from some other beginning’s end.

Yeah, I know who I want to take me home.
I know who I want to take me home.
I know who I want to take me home.
Take me home…

Closing time – time for you to go back to the places you will be from…

I know who I want to take me home.
I know who I want to take me home.
I know who I want to take me home.
Take me home…

Closing time – every new beginning comes from some other beginning’s end…

Gawd those are awful. “You don’t have to go home but you can’t stay here.” How profound. It’s like something the Dalai Lama would have said. And what does “this room won’t be open ’til your brothers or you sisters come.” Does that mean the bar is closed until your thirteen-old sibling is old enough to drink? And what exactly is “every new beginning come from some other beginning’s end?” Is this a riddle? Will I find a treasure if I solve it?

I cring every time I hear it.

Anyway, those are two songs on my hate list. What songs do you hate? Inquiring minds want to know.

3 Comments

  1. Tad crabby today are ya? 😉

  2. I have to admit that there are not many songs that I hate. I like alternative, rock, some punk, even country… but one song that I absolutely loathe and think they should shoot the singer and put us all out of our misery from having to listen to him would be Kid Rock’s “All Summer Long.”

    Anyone who rips off parts of other songs and try to make them their own is cruel and to make matters worse, Kid Rock cannot carry a tune to save his rapidly balding life! Not cool, not sexy, and definately not anything to swoon over.

  3. I actually kind of like that song, but not because of any particular talent or originality on Kid Rock’s part (I agree he sucks).

    The reason I like it is because it brings back memories of my teen and college years when we actually were listening to Sweet Home Alabama and trying different things, smoking funny things, and drinking whisky out of the bottle (boy could I tell you stories). Kid Rock was about three years old when it was released and was drinking milk out of a sippy cup.

    Plus, who in Michigan was really listening to Sweet Home Alabama in 1989? Please.

    I also agree Kid Rock’s ripoff tune is nothing to swoon over . . . and I know how much you love to swoon. 🙂


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Calendar

    December 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  


  • Archives


  • Meta


  • StatCounter

    web analytics