The Pussification Of The Western Male

20070321

As the father of three boys this great essay hit home. And this little tidbit is pure brilliance.

From that, we went to this: the Cheerios TV ad.

Now, for those who haven’t seen this piece of shit, I’m going to go over it, from memory, because it epitomizes everything I hate about the campaign to pussify men. The scene opens at the morning breakfast table, where the two kids are sitting with Dad at the table, while Mom prepares stuff on the kitchen counter. The dialogue goes something like this:

Little girl (note, not little boy): Daddy, why do we eat Cheerios?
Dad: Because they contain fiber, and all sorts of stuff that’s good for the heart. I eat it now, because of that.
LG: Did you always eat stuff that was bad for your heart, Daddy?
Dad (humorously): I did, until I met your mother.
Mother (not humorously): Daddy did a lot of stupid things before he met your mother
.

Now, every time I see that TV ad, I have to be restrained from shooting the TV with a .45 Colt. If you want a microcosm of how men have become less than men, this is the perfect example.

What Dad should have replied to Mommy’s little dig: Yes, Sally, that’s true: I did do a lot of stupid things before I met your mother. I even slept with your Aunt Ruth a few times, before I met your mother.

That’s what I would have said, anyway, if my wife had ever attempted to castrate me in front of the kids like that

There is much more so link on over and read it. Especially if you are raising boys and want them to grow into real men and not just hairier versions of your daughters or the daughters of your friends.

1 Comment

  1. I wish I have found this guy’s blog a long time ago. He’s good. He said everything I’ve been trying to say and somehow haven’t been able to. I can’t believe he stopped writing and I’m still struggling along.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Calendar

    November 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Dec »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930


  • Archives


  • Meta


  • StatCounter

    web analytics