What To Do?

todo

Now that Barry is going to be the president. These are in no particular order by the way, I am just rambling at 4:30 in the morning.

Well, first of all, I have to go into our pay system and increase my payroll withholding so I don’t get hit with owing taxes in April 2010. I did that last year when it looked like we would lose some of the tax cuts (sales tax deduction for one), and since I know Barry is going to raise taxes I will have to do it again this year. I suggest everyone do this starting with your first check in 2009 or you will be in for a nasty surprise.

Secondly, I have to figure out what to do with this blog. I am not going to take the chance that Barry’s people, once in positions of real power, will go after people like me. You can call me paranoid if you like but I know what I know. And since I have talked about politics for so long I really don’t have a clue what else I can talk about now. I can’t blog about my job or family in any great detail and even if I could I would find that boring as hell. One of the biggest problems is that I will have to delete two-thirds of my blogroll since they are all political blogs and I want nothing to do with politics now. I know many of you will be happy that I am not obsessing over it anymore, but at least I was blogging about something and now this blog is probably going to be nothing. Not “about nothing” which might be interesting, but literally nothing.

Third, I have to figure out how to react to those people who supported Barry. Despite my ornery writing on this blog I have always been polite with those whom (who?) I disagree with politically. And I still will be. But for the next month or so anyway I simply will not want to talk about this election. I don’t want to hear how good Barry will be for the country or how much the rest of the world loves us now. Both are lies and foolish ones at that. And I don’t want any fake sympathy. If you voted for Barry don’t email me and tell me you “feel my pain.” To be blunt – and I get to be blunt on my blog – you can stick my pain up your butt.

Fourth, I have to get serious about my “preparing for a disaster” activities. Again, I’m not being paranoid here. Everyone should have one already . . . for say a pandemic or another 9-11-style terrorist attack (only worse) . . . and since I truly believe that our new Democratic Overlords will only make America less-safe it would be foolish of me to not do the best to prepare for that and help my family live through it. No, it’s not a cave in the backyard, but it will include things like emergency supplies, generators, guns, and so on. BTW, if you have been thinking of buying a gun (or more guns), now is the time. There’s no telling how long they will be available.

Finally, sitting here all hungover and depressed I think I am going to get back into serious exercising again. Which, if I manage to do it, will be the only positive thing that comes out of this election. Maybe I will use this opportunity to get in shape for a marathon. Or just so I feel better and live a little longer. And, no Chuck, this is not an opportunity for you to try to talk me into long-distance biking. I think I am going to go back to my old standard which was running. Slower than I used to run no doubt, but running nonetheless.

That’s about it I guess. At least for now what with my headache and sleepy eyes. I still love America. It’s the greatest nation on Earth and unlike our new liberal masters I can separate our government from our country.

I just pray it can survive the next four years without becoming something less great.

8 Comments

  1. Funny, one of the first things I thought was “Well, I guess I can really start working out again since I won’t be spending an hour every morning reading and watching the news.” I’m bored already. I even had a dream about it last night. In the dream, I got into a FIST fight with an Obama-looking man. He was insisting that he be supported by the government, and when I challenged him on what the hell has he ever done to deserve anything, the fight began. Crazy.

  2. I think you need to be a bit more optomistic.

    After all, what is there to do but sit and just enjoy the life that will be dropped at our door step?

  3. Killjoy,

    To bad we don’t live near each other. We could run together. Well, you could run in front of me and I would wheeze behind you. Still, you would be an incentive for me to keep up – LOL

    Mssc54,

    Somehow I don’t think I am going to qualify for even one of Barry’s new giveaways. I will be funding them though of that I am sure.

  4. TRO, we need to meet up halfway between your state and mind and commiserate.

  5. […] November 5, 2008 by groovyvic TRO asks “What To Do?“ […]

  6. Well the absolute best news (for me) is that Jehovah-Jireh is my sole (and soul) providor. I really can’t lose with That partner.

    As for running…

    I used to run five miles in the morning and evening. However, that was in my young “jock” days and before I shattered my ankle along with both the bones in my leg. That was in 1976 and it is just to difficult for me to find the right pair of shoes to absorb the shock of running.

    However, I can follow you on my mountain bike! 🙂

    Glad I found your sight. Stop by mine some time and write something up!

    http://mssc54.wordpress.com/

  7. Mssc54,

    I have a decent bike . . . my friend Chuck talked me into buying one but past riding it for pleasure around the neighborhood I haven’t used it much. The country roads here are too narrow and winding and dangerous for bikers. Still I should give it a try again.

  8. Biking is much easier on the body than running especially at our age. There are plenty of places near you to ride. Just a couple of exits off the interstate north of you is perfect. I have logged a few hundred miles on the pennyrile and I can’t find a better place to ride. I still have the maps from previous events I can send you. Find a club and ride with them, they will help beginners.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Calendar

    November 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Dec »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930


  • Archives


  • Meta


  • StatCounter

    web analytics